ETUC annual conference on European Works Council on 2018 October 10 and 11

The Annual Conference on European Works Councils was held in Brussels on 10 and 11 October. Daniel Folgado, delegate of the AXA EWC for Spain, attended as a guest by ETUC (EUROPEAN TRADE UNION COFEDERATION) to explain the Article included in the Collective Agreement of AXA Spain on Digital Disconnection.

It is a meeting that has been held since 1994, and this time it was about "Democracy at Work". It began at 1pm on the 10th in a first session, and the next 11 in the second. In the afternoon of the 10th all the Delegates present went to the esplanade in front of the European Parliament, where a document with ETUC signatures and proposals was delivered, and we were received by several deputies, except those of the extreme right ...

The first day 10 there were several interventions on this issue of democracy at work. Stefan Olsson, DG EMPL Director in the European Parliament gave some information on a Manual of good practices that are being developed to encourage the creation and better functioning of the EWCs. The main concern was that many new EWCs had not been created since the last Directive in 2009.

Subsequent interventions on the voice of workers on the boards of companies and the impacts on this greater democracy in labor relations:

  • - Aline Conchon, industriAll Europe
  • - Herman Soggeberg, CEE Unilever
  • - Norbert Kluge, Fondation Hans-Böckler du DGB

 

On the following day 11, we talked about negotiating experiences and agreements on digitalisation and the challenges that we face as Trade Union Delegates and as European Committees. Presentations with negotiation practices and agreements reached:

  • - Robert Textoris, EWC Engie, France
  • - Sabine Kuhlmann, CEE et membre du conseil de surveillance, Oerlikon, Allemagne
  • - Daniel Folgado Risueño, CEE Axa assurance, Espagne
  • - Daniel Valtakari coordinateur CEE pour Nokia, Ideal Standard, Perkin Elmer
  • - Gabriele Guglielmi, coordinatrice des politiques internationales chez CGIL FILCAMS

 

A second part about Brexit in the EWCs, with interventions by

  • - Gerry McCormack, secrétaire général adjoint, SIPTU (Irlande)
  • - Stephen Schindler, EFBWW
  • - Barry Firth, EWC Coca Cola Royaume-Uni
  • - Janet Williamson, TUC (Royaume-Uni)

 

The need to keep the British Delegates in our respective EWCs, regardless of what happens with the exit agreement between the UK and the EU, was highlighted at this point. Some examples of negotiations and negotiations carried out in some EWCs, and the need to reach agreements with the management of companies that allow future maintenance of the British delegations.

To finalize a last point on the European Elections to be held soon and our union role in achieving results that will allow Europe peace, democracy, social justice, agreements regarding Digital Transformation and its impact on jobs, ... in short, lobby positively to improve social and economic conditions in the European Union.

Conférence annuelle de la CES sur les Comités Européens les 10 et 11 octobre 2018

La conférence annuelle sur les comités d'entreprise européens s'est tenue à Bruxelles les 10 et 11 octobre 2018. Daniel Folgado, délégué du CEG AXA pour l'Espagne, y a assisté à l'invitation de la CES (CONFÉDÉRATION SYNDICALE EUROPÉENNE) pour expliquer l'article inclus dans la convention collective d'AXA Espagne sur le droit à la déconnexion numérique.

Cette réunion se tient depuis 1994 et elle portait cette fois sur "La démocratie au travail". La réunion a commencé à 13 heures le 10 lors d'une première session et à 11 heures lors de la seconde. Dans l'après-midi du 10, tous les délégués présents se sont rendus sur l'esplanade devant le Parlement européen, où un document portant les signatures et les propositions de la CES a été remis. Nous avons été reçus par plusieurs députés, à l'exception de ceux de l'extrême droite ...

Le premier jour, plusieurs interventions ont eu lieu sur cette question de la démocratie au travail. Stefan Olsson, directeur de la DG EMPL au Parlement européen, a donné des informations sur un manuel de bonnes pratiques en cours d'élaboration pour encourager la création et l'amélioration du fonctionnement des comités d'entreprise européens. La principale préoccupation était que de peu de nouveaux CEE avaient été créés depuis la dernière directive en 2009.

Interventions ultérieures sur la voix des travailleurs dans les conseils d'administration des entreprises et les impacts sur cette plus grande démocratie dans les relations de travail:

  • - Aline Conchon, industriAll Europe
  • - Herman Soggeberg, CEE Unilever
  • - Norbert Kluge, Fondation Hans-Böckler du DGB

 

Le lendemain, nous avons parlé des expériences de négociation et des accords sur la numérisation et des défis auxquels nous sommes confrontés en tant que délégués syndicaux dans les comités européens. Présentations avec pratiques de négociation et accords conclus:

  • - Robert Textoris, EWC Engie, France
  • - Sabine Kuhlmann, CEE et membre du conseil de surveillance, Oerlikon, Allemagne
  • - Daniel Folgado Risueño, CEE Axa assurance, Espagne
  • - Daniel Valtakari coordinateur CEE pour Nokia, Ideal Standard, Perkin Elmer
  • - Gabriele Guglielmi, coordinatrice des politiques internationales chez CGIL FILCAMS

 

Une deuxième partie sur le Brexit dans les CEE, avec des interventions de

  • - Gerry McCormack, secrétaire général adjoint, SIPTU (Irlande)
  • - Stephen Schindler, EFBWW
  • - Barry Firth, EWC Coca Cola Royaume-Uni
  • - Janet Williamson, TUC (Royaume-Uni)

 

La nécessité de maintenir les délégués britanniques dans nos CEE respectifs, indépendamment de ce qui se passe avec l'accord de sortie entre le Royaume-Uni et l'UE, a été soulignée à ce stade. Quelques exemples de négociations et de négociations menées dans certains CEE, et la nécessité de parvenir à des accords avec la direction des sociétés permettant le maintien futur des délégations britanniques.

Pour terminer, un dernier point sur les élections européennes qui doivent se tenir prochainement et notre rôle syndical dans l'obtention de résultats qui permettront à l'Europe de maintenir la paix, la démocratie, la justice sociale, les accords sur la transformation numérique et son impact sur l'emploi, ... bref, faire pression de manière positive pour améliorer les conditions sociales et économiques dans l'Union européenne.